Tony Porter – ‘A Call to Men’

(Photo: TED Talks)

I want you to imagine yourself being hooked up to a direct line to wisdom. Imagine that every word you hear fills your brain, and travels through your whole body down to your feet. After the long drive to twinkle-toe town, it returns to your intelligence, where it remains.

Now you know what hearing Tony Porter feels like. Read on:

“This is the love of my life, my daughter Jade.

The world I envision for her:

How do I want men to be acting and behaving?

I need you on board. I need you with me. I need you working with me and me working with you, on how we raise our sons, and teach them to be men.

That it’s OK to not be dominating.

That it’s OK to have feelings and emotions.

That it’s OK to promote equality.

That it’s OK to have women that are just friends and that’s it.

That it’s OK to be whole.

That my liberation as a man, is tied to your liberation as a woman.”

Tony is splendid in his candor, his realness, and his message.

Take 20 minutes to watch this. You’ll see what I mean.

It is a worthy reminder that we need to constantly be on point with this conversation. Local Canadian broadcaster Jian Ghomeshi – his now-public saga, and the lives of numerous women – is just a high profile example of what goes on every day. You may even know someone right now that is going through it. Just because the media chooses to focus attention on any given means nothing. It’s called an availability heuristic – look it up. It means that the problem of violence against women is still rampant, and that the work of men like Tony is that much more important to maintain moving forward.

Thank you, Tony Porter, for serving as a beacon of light so that our ships may safely pass.

Check out more on A Call to Men: Working to create a world where all men and boys are loving and respectful and all women and girls are valued and safe.

2 comments

Leave a Reply

